Family

A Song For You

My grandma was a fantastic guitar player, and she loved to sing.  She used to play and sing at the local taverns in the small town where she lived.

I’m not joking!  It’s how she met her second husband!

Imagine a smoky bar (’cause you could still smoke in bars back then and they were always smoky) with dim lighting and a songstress strumming in the corner.   A lone gent is sipping his beer after a long day in the woods (my grandpa was a logger) and he meets her eyes across the room as she’s playing a……a…..

I don’t know, a Polka?  My grandma liked really upbeat music.  She was a very quiet and reserved person until you put the guitar in her hands…then oh baby, watch out!  Her favorite tunes were a little rowdy, slightly off-color and always funny.  She called it her “cowboy music.”

Anyways, one of the things my grandma liked to do was change song lyrics and customize them to her audience.  She did it totally off the cuff.  So whenever visited her house, we begged her to play the guitar and sing for us. Much to the delight of myself and the other grandkids she would sing funny songs with our names and life events highlighted in them.

So in memory of my grandma, and to delight all the MOMS (and caretakers, caregivers, dads, grandparents, aunts, uncles or anyone at all) in the audience today, here is a song for YOU:

To be sung to the tune “Home on the Range.”

OH give me a home,

where the laundry is done,

and the dishes are all put away!

Where seldom is heard,

the kids bickering words,

and my sanity stays intact all day!

Home, home of the strange*!

(*things I find under beds)

Clutter and dust go away!

Where seldom is heard,  (PLEASE? *sob*!)

the kids bickering words,

and my sanity stays intact all day!

Have a GREAT day!

Love ya!  Danielle

 

Leave a Reply

